Beyond the Grasp of Mortal Hands

NSP 175 :  Arctos -  Beyond the Grasp of Mortal Hands DigiCD

Release date: September 20th, 2019

Arctos is the voice of the mountains, the call of the rising wild.

Inspired by the Godless wastelands of Northern Alberta as well as the jagged monoliths of the Canadian Rockies, Arctos brings together a unique blend of sounds to craft a form of Black Metal rife with atmosphere and melody. Formed in 2014 by a group of veteran musicians, Arctos is well steeped in musical tradition.

With the 2017 release of their debut EP “A Spire Silent”, Arctos stepped into the light after almost three years of writing in secret. Arctos was finally unleashed upon the public and laid waste with their brand of savage Northern Black Metal.

In September 2019, after years of successful shows and touring across Western Canada, Arctos finally release their debut full length “Beyond the Grasp of Mortal Hands” and continue to set their sights ever higher.

The first pressing of the CD comes as Collectors Edition in Digipack with 12-page booklet, limited to 500 copies.


1. The Ancestor’s Path (10:43)
2. Shattered Tomb (6:33)
3. Somnos Aeternus (7:43)
4. The Spectre (1:17)
5. Autumn’s Herald… Interitus (8:24)
6. A Realm Beyond (5:44)
7. The Light Beyond The Sky (The Passage II) (7:32)

Offical websites:




"Overall, this was an experience, not just an album. When they talked about them being experienced musicians, it shows. They crafted a unique take on the genre, and it propelled the album forward. Various blends and twists along the way, added with doses of atmosphere and more ambient moments really made the album as strong as it was. It’s Black Metal at its core, but it’s so much more. “Beyond the Grasp of Mortal Hands” is the soundtrack for Canadian Black Metal."
9/10 -